Were all a reflection of each other

Speaking to little Sofia and little Sophia at the same time.

Do you see your true value?

Or are you someone who can’t recognise the good in themselves, even if people keep telling you?

Something weird happened when I arrived at Ritmo Del Rio Eco-Lodge to volunteer a few weeks ago. While the other volunteers were assigned to share dorm rooms, I was granted a private room with a double and single bed to myself.

No one quite understood why.

That was until halfway through the experience when Sofia from Australia showed up randomly and was placed in the same room as me. The hosts and volunteers burst with excitement when they realize we now have two Soph(fias) in the same room.

Now ‘Little Sof’ has become her nickname at the eco-lodge this week. While I’ve become ‘Big Soph’ since I’m 29 and she’s 20.

Or to the reception staff: I’m ‘Sophia con peh (p)” and she’s “Sofia con efe (f)”.

Before bed, by the river after work, or in the smoking area above the eco-lodge, little Sofia and I share a number of special moments. Her quirky habits like pulling a yoga pose mid-conversation cracks me up. Or when she slowly smirks and pluckers her lips when “you sexy thang” comes on the speakers- lighting up everyone in the room. Vice versa she loves my little bit of wisdom being a bit older and our shared love of music, travel and food. Together we talk about worldly topics, laugh and sing together while she plays ‘You Know I’m No Good’ on the guitar.

“I’m scared if I don’t go home and get a proper career soon then my parents and friends will abandon me”. Little Sofia shares one night with me.

On this silent and starry night beneath the full moon in San Rafael, Colombia. I see the honest and raw side of the joker and lighthearted 20-year-old I’ve spent the last few days with.

Though I’m never quite sure what to say when people share raw emotions with me. From how she’s spoken about her parents, I’m pretty sure they do love her at this moment. I tell her that I know she is adored by the other volunteers and staff here. So right now, she is not abandoned.

I remind Sofia that the present moment is all that exists and so her fears about the future or past will only ruin right now for her.

“That’s soooooooooo cool you think like that!” 

She cries in her thick and excited Australian accent- I love when she gets excited like this. Little Sofia is intrigued by my thoughts and attitude to life. So much so, she’s somewhat in disbelief about how someone could be aligned with her values and free spirit. Sometimes, she compares and implies that I’m somewhere ‘ahead’ of her in the personal growth journey.

Little does she know I’m equally inspired by her and the peace she holds at 20. Knowing I was nowhere near her level of growth in my confusing early 20s.

Sofia has a freedom about her that I could only have dreamed of back then. Plus ease with humour that can light up a room.

Reflections of each other

The moment we truly align arrives when I share with Sofia that she’s only a reflection of me.

“I can only be me, because you are you” I tell her.

“NOOO F***KING WAAAY” she cries in awe. Her blue eyes widen again and her jaw drops with an expressive smile.

I describe that her same struggles and anxieties still exist in me. Probably less often, but of course, I’m still fearful of living a life without an official career, any kind of 5-year plan or a home to call my own.

It’s a given that trusting in the unknown is not always easy. Living on a whim or blind faith that everything will be okay.

As I share with little Sofia, I realise that I am also talking to little Sophia inside me at the same time. Acknowledging the growth and joy that little girl once couldn’t see and reminding her of her progress. I tell Sofia sitting in front of me again that we are reflections of each other. Such that, I also need to heal and hear the message I’m sharing with her.

It’s uncomfortable for many of us to accept compliments. It’s weird when people call you inspiring or funny. It’s in our nature to reject or deny it.

But sometimes (more often than not I’d say) they’re telling the truth. In our pursuit of joy and simplicity, we must first surrender and acknowledge all that we are right now. For ourselves and for others in this present moment.

Two Soph(fias) from opposite sides of the globe did it this week.

Final thoughts

How many of us are so set on looking forward that we can’t acknowledge and embrace who we are right now? What if we started to own who we are today?

Not who we’re going to be one day.

How much could we overcome if we stopped competing and started connecting?

We are all a reflection of each other, beauty, flaws, anxieties and all.

Hope you enjoy the read, let me know!

With love and wonder,

Sophia xx

Image preview

Hola, Sophia here! A former career girl turned full-time slow traveller. Most travellers like to tick boxes and follow itineraries. I like to go slow, explore and improvise- unveiling the magic of a simple life on the road. I’m a free spirit, simple-life seeker and overseas volunteer who embraces slow travel and simple living as a means to discover beauty and joy across the world. Join me on the journey by signing up for my new weekly newsletter: Unlocking Simplicity.

 

Reply

or to participate.