Simplicity in Action: Practical tips for an Intentional Lifestyle

Understanding the importance of small steps from my recent return to busy London...

Hey friends, Sophia here!

It's been a while since we last connected, but that’s what happens when you embrace living in the present. While I’d love to stick to a strict writing schedule, I don’t really believe in them! Part of this journey is about decolonising our minds and ideas of success, not feeding the system and sticking to inspired action as and when it hits. Plus, since I recently returned to the UK after spending most of the past four years abroad, I’ve given myself plenty of time to rest and reconnect on English soil- what a mindf**k!

After two years of guess-working my way around Latin America in broken Spanglish, it's lovely to see family and reconnect with familiar foods, conversations and lands.

But being back its also been a stark reminder of just how busy and chaotic life gets in London. If its not the social commitments, it’s the never-ending to-do lists, the motions of the rat race and constant noise. What’s struck me most is THE CLUTTER—there's just so much... stuff… everywhere. Physically, mentally, and emotionally.

Returning to the world of convenience, excess, and busyness has been eye-opening and made me realise how challenging it can be to get UNSTUCK while living in the matrix. Its a reminder that its all too easy to get stuck in your ways. Thinking outside the box is much easier when you are away from your home environment.

I thought about minimalism and intentional living this morning and was inspired to reiterate how transformative it can be to get started on a minimalist journey. After years of burnout from being on the grind, embracing these practical tips can help you start to reduce clutter in your life and reclaim your joy.

This is a free post. I am grateful to everyone who opens my newsletter whenever I send it out, and all I hope is that it has some positive impact on your day or indulges your curiosity. If you would like to support my writing and journey, I’m grateful if you consider buying me a coffee. For more info about my work and services, I have recently redesigned my website. 

Minimalism: A Path to Intentional Living

Minimalism is a mindset that has become increasingly popular in recent years as people look to declutter their homes and lives. However, it does not by any means mean living in a perfectly organised, barren and empty space. The true meaning can often get lost in the aesthetics.

Definition to me- Minimalism is the art of finding joy in simplicity amidst the chaos of modern life.

Minimalism is fundamentally about living with intention. In a world that often feels dull and overwhelming, being intentional is how we can recuperate our time, space and thus our joy.

Taking space in nature- Petsitting in beautiful Bath this week!

My Journey:

When I first started my minimalist journey, I was overwhelmed by the sheer amount of stuff I had accumulated over the years. Clothes I never wore, gadgets I never used, and piles of trinkets that served no real purpose. Once I got started, I realised the clutter wasn’t just physical—it was mental and emotional too.

At the same time I was preparing for a new adventure in Europe. So each item I let go of felt like weight physically lifting off my shoulders.

I learned the true value of minimalism when I started travelling. Living out of a backpack over the past few years and carrying all my belongings on my back forced me to evaluate what I needed and what was literally and physically weighing me down.

Practicing minimalism is a daily conscious and intentional act of love to yourself.

The Practice of Minimalism

My Tips to begin a more intentional lifestyle.

In practice, minimalism is about making daily deliberate choices that align with your values and priorities. It’s not about stripping your life down to the bare essentials, but rather about surrounding yourself with things, people and projects that truly matter to you.

There is no right or wrong way to ‘become a minimalist’ and no destination titled ‘Now I am a Minimalist guys!’. Instead, what you can guarantee is:

  • The ability to start right now.

  • The freedom to design a life that reflects your true self.

  • Profound changes in various areas of your life as you let go.

Now… How to begin…

Number 1: Get Real & Start Small

Begin by being honest with yourself. As you scan your rooms and life, what stands out to be causing more aggro than its worth? Imagine those things are making a jarring noise and every time you see it that noise gets louder.

Could it be those overflowing drawers? That ‘pile’ which never gets sorted? Or that surface that hasn’t been cleared in longer than you can remember?

Removing items you no longer need or use can have an immediate impact, making the task feel less daunting. Create a space in an unseen corner of your home to put thing that need to go and if you can get rid of them now… do it!

2: Prioritise, prioritise, prioritise!

The magic in minimalism is that you get to focus on keeping items (+ eventually friends, jobs and thoughts) that truly add value to your life. This is about reclaiming what matters. If its your time that you want to focus on, prioritise yourself over other life commitments. If its your physical space, invest in fewer, high-quality pieces that serve multiple purposes and bring you joy.

“When everything is a priority, nothing is.”

Wisdom from my old boss and the days as a business analyst.

Consistency helps build momentum and makes the process manageable. Set aside time each week to declutter a different area of your home.

3: Simplify Your Schedule:

Being bound by the constraints of time, especially within a rat racing system, assessing your daily activities and commitments will help you simplify your capacity. Give yourself time to think and prioritise what truly matters. Start by letting go of tasks and engagements that don't align with your values or goals. This will help free up time and space to acknowledge what you love and reduce stress in this process.

4. The magic is in Mindful Consumption!

To make this really work, you will need to be intentional about what you bring into your life. Whether Avoiding the infinite supply of new possessions, information, or relationships, you do yourself and honour when choose quality over quantity. Ask yourself if each new item or commitment truly adds value to your life. The BDS movement is a great example of how we can

5. And Finally, The Importance of Mindfulness Practices

The importance of taking small steps can be found in incorporating mindfulness practices such as meditation or journaling into your day. I know how hard it is to get out the house these days, but going into nature will always allow you to take a moment to breathe and be present. This practice daily helps you stay grounded and focused on what truly matters. Regularly practicing gratitude can shift your mindset from wanting more to valuing the present and getting more clarity on the future.

Conclusion:

When you start a minimalism journey as a path to intentional living, things start to unfold in ways you could not have foreseen. Clarity, humility and honesty about your life and your the things you’ve gathered is just the beginning. I believe we have the choice to take a small step and create a life that reflects our true selves and brings us joy, and it begins with looking at our STUFF.

Starting your minimalist journey can feel daunting, but those small, consistent steps, will help you implement changes in your physical space and mental well-being. Use the tips I've shared to get started, and know that every little effort counts.

Also, I'm here to support you on your decluttering journey. With an understanding, passion and energy for minimalism, I am now in the process of setting up a virtual and in-person Professional Organising and Decluttering business in the UK! Yes, it is a real (and VALID) profession, popular in the U.S and slowly heading to this side of the sea.

Thats it for today friends, a cluttered home is a cluttered mind. So if you want to know more please contact me here- to get started and potentially working together. Otherwise, to learn more about my work or to book time with me, feel free to drop me an email or a message on Linkedin✨🌍❤️

This is a free post. I am grateful to everyone who opens my newsletter whenever I send it out, and all I hope is that it has some positive impact on your day or indulges your curiosity. If you would like to support my writing and journey, I’m grateful if you consider buying me a coffee. For more info about my work and services, I have recently redesigned my website. 

Reply

or to participate.