Redefining Luxury for Greater Fulfilment

Savouring cheese and bread in Colombia- courtesy of my recently retired mum

Hello all!

Since I've been travelling in South America for the last 9 months, I've definitely missed some of my simple home comforts. Namely, good cheese and bread. My love for cheese stems back to childhood and family gatherings. Oh, how I love a flavourful stilton, a chewy port salou, creamy bries or a mature cheddar smothered on a warm piece of bread. 'Luxuries’ to me now, that are simply not available to me on this side of the world. 

One of my favourite Colombian sayings is "Bon provecho!" Or "bon appetit" to me and you. Since the English seem to have adopted the phrase from the French. It encapsulates the love for food in so many cultures, and how beautiful it is to enjoy and savour the simple pleasure of eating.

What better way to convey culinary joy than a board layered with assortments of cheese, sweet chutneys, and warm crusty bread? 

Yet, here in South America, the locals favour a whiter, blander, more like goat's cheese style. With corn-made bread or arepas which are generally starchier and sweeter. It's delicious, especially when served warm in a traditional 'buenelo' or with a spread of guava on bread. But there are course, things about home that do not compare elsewhere.

But, all is not lost. This week, I was visited by a familiar face from London who came bearing gifts. She entered the hostel I was staying at in Cartagena with a smile on her face and a selection of cheeses, chutney, a bottle of Baileys and... A bag of sausage rolls from Greggs!

No alt text provided for this image

It may not look like much to most people. But after months, that pastry and cheese felt like heaven landed in Colombia- courtesy of my lovely mum.

Luxury is what you make it:

As we were growing up, my mum would work tireless long shifts as a midwife in the NHS. I can still hear the hungry teenage voices of my sibling and me whining down the phone "Muuuuuum, what's for dinner???" while she ran around busy hospital wards.

Almost always, she would respond:

"There's cheese and bread!"

I rarely felt the appeal. My siblings and I would turn our noses up, completely unbothered about the luxury available to us. We'd sit and wait for Mum to come home and cook a meal after a long shift on the ward. Cheese felt like a given, something we didnt need to be grateful for and now "cheese and bread!" has become a long-running joke in our family.

Yet here I stand, cheese and breadless in Colombia.

Sat around that pool in Cartagena with my mother eating our favourite cheeses and sausage rolls- life couldn't get any better at that moment. I feel as though I've found a new love for cheese, a new appreciation for home.

It's one of those things, 'you don't appreciate it until it’s gone' moments. But what if we were to appreciate it before it’s gone?

Redefining luxury for greater fulfilment

Were talking about curdled cow’s milk here. But we could redefine luxury in all areas of our lives. From people to running water to food, shelter, nature or cheese and chutney on a rosemary cracker.

I write about food a lot here- but I guess it’s because food reminds us of what we have to be grateful for.

Food is such a big part of being at home. Cheese and wine nights with friends, or late night slice of cheese on toast and a cup of tea. Simple things from home feel like luxuries to me here.

We easily forget how much luxury we are surrounded by. It's time to redefine our luxuries and create a gratitude attitude today.

What simple pleasures are you grateful for?

Hola, Sophia here! I'm a former career girl turned simple-life seeker. I travel slowly, live minimalistic, explore and improvise- unveiling the magic of a simple life on the road. I’m a free spirit who embraces slow travel and simple living as a means to discover beauty and joy across the world. Join me on the journey by signing up for my new weekly newsletter: Unlocking Simplicity.

Reply

or to participate.