Pepperoni Pizzas & Lockdown: On Gratitude and Abundance…

Being abundantly grateful for everything you have.

“That's a really great apple”

A line I never thought I’d say…

I'd never fancied them. Apples in my head were bland fruits that tasted better covered in crumble and custard.

But while being on a restricted daily diet of daal and rice during the full lockdown for 2 months in India, my appreciation for some of life's simpler things changed.

Gratitude

While I was in lockdown, there was one food I craved the entire time. 

A pepperoni pizza.

The famous Beatles Cafe in Rishikesh, India’s home of yoga, sat a 5-minute walk from the hostel. Serving delicious hot cheesy pizzas with a view overlooking the Ganga River. Luckily, I’d just managed to try one in the days before the lockdown in India was announced. 

But then, of course, everything was closed.

As our hostel attempted to feed 60 hungry bellies each day, our diet was limited to daal and rice each day. Sometimes with chapatis.

No question, I was more than grateful for where I’d landed as the Coronavirus dominated the world. 

“But no pizza?”

Something that would be so mindlessly available to me at the touch of a button in my life in London. Where I’d flick open an app and 50 restaurants would bring pizza to my front door within the hour, I’d grown accustomed to having it- when I wanted and how I wanted. In the process, I’d lost true gratitude and appreciation for my favourite food.

Only now it wasn't available to me, I really really wanted it. 

So when Helen came up to me with an apple that had fallen from the tree that day in lockdown, I couldn’t believe my optimistic response. 

“That's a really great apple”

That apple tasted so d*mn good after weeks of daal and rice- it still blows my mind. For something so simple, I’d never felt such abundance and gratitude 

Even though my wants were not being fulfilled, it was absolutely what I needed and taught me a powerful lesson. 

We have everything we need.

Over-Indulgence. 

If you’re reading this article right now, chances are you have access to a computer or smartphone, an internet connection, and a roof over your head. You likely have access to food, water, and healthcare. On top of friends and family who care about you.

In short, you truly have everything you need to live a happy and fulfilling life.

But our needs and wants are ever-shifting in the dynamics of the fast world we see today. Somehow, the modern age has used a mix of clever marketing and deliveries has turned many of our wants into needs.

Or rather, they've created a need for the things we want.

We all want to indulge in tasting and experiencing the ‘best’ of life. Be that through travel, food, love, and gadgets. Our excessive wants, combined with the world of speed and convenience have created a lack of gratitude for the little things and an attitude of always wanting more.

In this world, I believe it's becoming more challenging to appreciate what we do have. To step back and think:

Do I really want this?

Or- will this add value to my life?

Will I really appreciate this? 

No alt text provided for this image

Integrating Gratitude into My Travels:

The lockdown in India changed my attitude to travel and gratitude. 

These days, I don’t own much. I travel long-term with a carry-on backpack and live on a very small amount of money. I eat out less, stay in places longer and cook budget-friendly meals. To be honest, one of the things I look forward to these days is accommodations with ovens- just so I can bake a jacket potato! Each time now is as enjoyable as the last. 

This is because my needs are being met and I have enough food, water, shelter and community, right now. 

Not only does this make me feel incredibly abundant, but it also means I radiate and operate in life at a level of gratitude. Which naturally brings more good things and good people my way to create memories with.

Final word: Abundance

We live in a world of abundance. Nowadays, we have access to more resources, more opportunities, and more experiences than ever before. So why, despite all of this abundance, should we still find ourselves feeling dissatisfied and unfulfilled? 

To me, it’s a result of being influenced to always want and be more. To live for tomorrow. In turn, to feel like you're never fully abundant today

Of course, I’m not saying that we should never strive for more. It’s natural to want to improve our lives and pursue our dreams. But when we’re constantly focused on what we don’t have, we can lose sight of the abundance that already surrounds us.

Rather, when we’re so focussed on the end goal, we can forget to enjoy the process. 

The next time you find yourself yearning for something you don’t have, take a step back and appreciate all that you do have. This proactive approach might help you realise, you already have everything you need. 

Letting go of the need to have more allows us to appreciate the abundance that surrounds us right now

*POV: Pepperoni pizzas and rum & coke on Palomem beach, South Goa- post lockdown. One of the best pizzas I’d ever had! @ Magic Italy, Palolem*

Hola, Sophia here! A former career girl turned full-time slow traveller. Most travellers like to tick boxes and follow itineraries. I like to go slow, explore and improvise- unveiling the magic of a simple life on the road. I’m a free spirit, simple- r and overseas volunteer who embraces slow travel and simple living as a means to discover beauty and joy across the world. Join me on the journey by signing up for my new weekly newsletter: Unlocking Simplicity.

Reply

or to participate.